Skip to main content

Mimi Bennett Receives the NCC President's Award

Dec 16, 2009

Mimi Bennett, WHNP-BC, MS, has been honored with the 2009 NCC President’s Award.   The President’s Award is given in recognition for outstanding service to NCC.   Ms. Bennett, Past President, (1999-2004) has served in her post-Presidency as NCC representative relative to development of the Advanced Practice Consensus Paper:  Consensus Model for APRN Regulation: Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education.    

An outgrowth of  a multiyear collaboration between the APRN Consensus Process Work Group (of which NCC was a member) and the National Council of State Boards of Nursing APRN Advisory Committee, the Consensus Model for APRN Regulation: Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education document presents an APRN  model relevant to advanced practice educators, accreditors, certifiers and licensure bodies.  The paper defines APRN practice relative to regulation, education accreditation and certification and is a road map for implementation of current advanced practice roles and provides guidelines for the introduction of new APRN roles.

The collaboration efforts took over four years to come to fruition and Ms. Bennett ably represented NCC in meetings, phone/web conferences and devoted many hours in deliberation, review of documents and collaborative discussion with the NCC Board of Directors and staff.

Ms. Bennett, in addition, to being Past President continues to serve in the role of Chair of the WHNP Content Team.

The President’s Award is given at the discretion of the President and past recipients have included Past President, Rosanne Harrigan, Executive Director, Betty Burns and Chair of the Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing Content Team, Susan Blackburn.

Congratulations, Mimi and thank you for your service to NCC and the nurse practitioner constituency.