The NCC CCI Specialty Assessment - nearly 90,000 assessments taken! September 5, 2014

Innovative - Personalized - and REQUIRED!
with nearly 90,000 assessments taken

NCC's Continuing Competency Specialty Assessment has been taken nearly 90,000 times by certified nurses and nurse practitioners.

This innovative program individualizes maintaining certification based on a Specialty Assessment keyed to core specialty competencies. The assessment creates a personalized Education Plan that each certified nurse or nurse practitioner must follow for their certification maintenance. If you hold one of the certifications listed below you are required to take the Specialty Assessment - prior to earning any continuing education for your NCC certification maintenance.

If you hold a certification in one of the following:
Inpatient Obstetric Nursing
Low Risk Neonatal Nursing
Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing
Neonatal Nurse Practitioner
Maternal Newborn Nursing
Women's Health Care Nurse Practitioner

Then you MUST have an Education Plan - BEFORE earning any CE to apply to your maintenance.

Questions? Review these two brochures, they address questions, dispel myths and explain the professional development certification maintenance program in four major steps.

Everything you need to know about CCI . . . in 4 easy steps:
Step 1
Current Licensure
Step 2
Complete a Specialty Assessment
Step 3
Obtain an Education Plan
Step 4
Earn & Document CE based on your Individualized Education Plan



Eucation plan examples & explanations

  • See sample education plans for all NCC nursing specialties
  • Understand your specialty index and the effect it has on your CE needs
  • Learn about keywords - a helpful way to show knowledge gaps within a specific topic
  • Look through a short overview of a NCC online maintenance application

Visit the Continuing Competency Specialty Assessment section of to download your copies of these easy to read brochures.